Memorial Gates Council

The Memorial Gates Council was established to continue the work of the Memorial Gates Trust. It is not at present a registered charity but its status is regularly reviewed.

Its primary purposes are to hold an annual commemoration at the Gates on Constitution Hill and to develop an educational service.

The website provides information to enable academic research and to help ensure the public has access to the history of the service of more than five million men and women from the Indian sub-continent, Africa and the Caribbean who volunteered to serve with the Armed Forces of the Crown during the First and Second World Wars. The contribution that these men and women and their descendants, members of the Commonwealth family, continue to make to the rich diversity of British society is greatly valued. The Council's wish is for this website to help promote understanding and respect.

Memorial Gates Council

Inderjeet Singh NijharInderjeet Singh Nijhar has been appointed chairman for a term of three years. He is managing director of Gravitas Consultancy Ltd and has 30 years experience in policy and establishing businesses for social transformation.

His exciting vision is to honour those who served by developing awareness of their sacrifice to the younger generations. An educational programme will be introduced in partnership with other organisations.

Life President
Memorial Gates Council

Baroness FlatherThe Council is delighted to announce that Baroness Shreela Flather has been appointed the honorary life president of the Memorial Gates Council. Lady Flather, shown at the Commonwealth Ceremony in March 2014, was the inspiration and driving force in the creation of the Memorial Gates, together with the Trustees of the Memorial Gates Trust, which preceded the Council.

She relinquishes her post as chairman which she has held ever since the project was inaugurated. The Baroness will continue to be closely involved with the work of the Council.

^ top


Baroness Flather JP DL FRSA

Baroness Flather
© Darrell Russell

Field Marshal The Lord Inge KG GCB PC DL

Field Marshal Sir John Chapple GCB CBE DL

Field Marshal The Lord Guthrie GCB LVO OBE

Major General Sir Evelyn Webb-Carter KCVO OBE DL


Inderjeet Singh Nijhar – Chairman

Mr Avtar Bahra

Lieutenant Colonel Tim Coles MBE

Ms Sophie Densham

Mr. Paul Chambers

Mr. Richard Evans MBE

Mr. Praveen Moman

Mr. Andrew Thompson

Mr Allan C Wilmot