Memorial Gates Trust

The Memorial Gates Trust was registered on 28 August 1998. Its charitable objects were "To establish and maintain in perpetuity for the benefit of the public a memorial in the form of decorative gates to those inhabitants of the Indian sub-continent, the continent of Africa and the Caribbean who served in the Armed Forces of the Crown, whether by land, sea or in the air, during the World Wars 1914-18 and 1939-45".

With its objectives achieved through the dedication of its trustees led by Baroness Flather, the Trust's registration with the Charity Commission was removed on 20 April 2009 and it ceased to exist.

Its work, especially in holding an annual commemoration and in developing an educational remit, continues through the Memorial Gates Council.


^ top

Registered Charity No. 1071263


HRH The Prince of Wales

Vice Patrons

The High Commissioners for Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Jamaica and Uganda

The Lord Ahmed of Rotherham

Chief Emeka Anyaoku TC GCVO CON

The Rt Hon. The Lord Ashdown of Norton-sub-Hamdon KBE

Mr Karan F. Bilimoria DL

The Rt Hon. Lord Callaghan KG

The Rt Hon. The Lord Carrington KG GCMG CH MC

The Rt Revd and Rt Hon. Richard Chartres, The Bishop of London

Mr Lal Chellaram

The Rt Hon. The Viscount Cranborne DL

Mr Maneck Dalal OBE

Mr Desmond De Silva QC

The Lord Dholakia OBE JP

The Earl of Elgin and Kincardine KT CD JP

Sir David Gore-Booth KCMG KCVO

Dr Khalid Hameed

The Rt Hon. The Lord Healey of Riddlesden CH MBE

Mr Gopichand Hinduja

Field Marshal The Lord Inge KG GCB DL

Dr Avtar Lit

Mr Raj Loomba

The Rt Hon. John Major CH

Mr Yogesh Mehta

The Viscount Montgomery of Alamein CBE

The Countess Mountbatten of Burma CBE CD JP DL

The Rt Revd Dr Michael Nazir-Ali, The Bishop of Rochester

Mrs Bashan Rafique

Mr S.S. (Firoz) Rahman

The Viscount Ridley KG GCVO TD JP DL

Major General S.S. Sandhu

Dame Maureen Thomas DBE

Sir Mark Tully OBE

Mr Moni Varma

Sir Peter Wakefield KBE CMG

The Rt Hon. The Lord Weatherill DL

Major General Sir Evelyn Webb-Carter KCVO OBE

Lord Karan Bilimoria CBE DL


Mr Khalid Aziz LVO DL

The Baroness Flather JP DL (Chairman)

Mr Lakshmi Niwas Mittal

Mr Harpinder Singh Narula

Sir Gulam Noon MBE

Sir Anwar Pervez OBE

The Lord Sandberg of Passfield CBE

The Viscount Slim OBE DL

Sir Neil Thorne OBE TD DL

(Closed after the construction of the Gates) – Archived historical information for reference.